Station 2 serves at the home of Engine 2. Its 1000 booster tank is utilized on fires in the Willow Beach area, where hydrants are
scarce at present. Fire Station #2 has a lot of industries, manufacturing operations, along with a lot of houses which were built
close together many years ago in its territory.
There are also several shopping centers, small business structures, churches, schools and mutli-family dwellings in the territory of Engine 2. Engine 2 must also cover Willow Beach along with Engine 10. Engine 2 has a western border with Engine 1 at Buckeye Street. It southern border is the Arkansas River. Engine 2'S District borders on the east with Engine 10, and on the north it goes as
far as the Union Pacific Railroad Property.
Interesting Facts About Station 2 and Engine 2: Station 2 has occupied more Fire Stations than any other Company in the NLRFD'S History. The original station 2 was on the across the street from 2100 or 2200 E. Broadway. In the 1931 Underwriters' Report,
Station 2 is listed at Third and Beech in a "Concrete Block Building." At some point, the Station was moved to 2306 E. Broadway,
where it stayed until 1946. It was in the east end of a building that evidently had more than one business in the entire building. From recording in the NLR History Commission, it looks as if there was barely room for the fire truck. The next Station 2 was across the street (2300 E. Broadway). It "shook and rattled" when big trucks came by on Broadway. This was the first Station 2 which the City of NLR actually owned. There others were rented. It was torn down and replaced by a two bay station, which opened in 1954 and was closed in 1992. That station still stands today. The present Station 2 at E. Broadway and Dixie was opened in 1992.
Station 2 is now the "Haz-Mat Station," since Unit 938 operates out of this station. It is operated by the firefighters on Engine 2. Engine 2 received its first motorized apparauts in 1925. The 1917 American La France moved to Station 2 upon the arrival of the '25 Seagrave at Central in December, 1925